Advisory Committee

This Committee is comprised of States and other stakeholders to counsel Executive Committee on membership criteria, issues related to financial capacity to provide remediation, and criteria and names of neutral individuals and independent experts for roster consideration.

Reynaldo Ariel Álvarez-Morales

Executive Secretary, Inter-Secretarial Commission on Biosafety of Genetically Modified Organisms, Mexico (States – Latin America and the Caribbean)

Gerard Barry

Golden Rice Project Leader and Network Coordinator, International Rice Research Institute (Public/Private Research Entities)

Martin Batic

Assistant Professor in Biotechnology, Head, Biotechnology Unit, Environment Directorate, Slovenia (States – Europe)

Larry Beach

Senior Biotechnology Advisor, Bureau for Food Security, United States Agency for International Development, United States of America (States – North America)

Judith Chambers

Director, Program for Biosafety Systems (PBS), International Food Policy Research Institute (Public/Private Research Entities)

Brooks Daly

Deputy Secretary-General and Principal Legal Counsel, Permanent Court of Arbitration (Stakeholders)

Ron D’Ambrosi

Area Vice President, Arthur J. Gallagher Risk Management Services (Stakeholders)

Reynaldo Ebora

Director, National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, University of the Philippines Los Baños, Philippines (States – Asia)

Christina Good

Vice Chair, Compact Executive Committee; Senior Counsel, Product and Trade Regulation, BASF Corporation (Members)

Thomas Greiber

Senior Legal Officer, Environmental Law Centre, International Union for Conservation of Nature (Non-governmental Organizations)

David Hafashimana

Senior Research Officer (Ecologist/ Conservationist), National Agricultural Research Organisation, National Forestry Resources Research Institute, Uganda (States – Africa)

Chris Holdgreve

Executive Director, Excellence Through Stewardship (Stakeholders)

Gregory Ikonen

Vice President and General Counsel, Mendel Biotechnology, Inc. (Small and Medium Sized Enterprises)

Julian Jaftha

Director of Genetics Resources, Department of Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries, South Africa (States –Africa)

Timothy Johnson

Vice President, Illinois Foundation Seeds; First Vice President, International Seed Federation (Small and Medium Sized Enterprises)

René Lefeber

Professor of International Environmental Law, Amsterdam Center for Environmental Law and Sustainability, University of Amsterdam; Former Co-chair of the negotiations of the Nagoya-Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress, The Netherlands (States – Europe)

Joanna Lees

General Manager, The Grain and Feed Trade Association, representing the International Grain Trade Coalition (Stakeholders)

Diran Makinde

Director, African Biosafety Network of Expertise, New Partnership for Africa’s Development Planning and Coordinating Agency (Regional and International Governmental Organizations)

Jimena Carrasco Nieto

Professor, International Environmental Law; Former Co-chair of the negotiations of the Nagoya-Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress, Colombia (States – Latin America and the Caribbean)

Xiaocheng Qin

Associate Professor, China Foreign Affairs University, China (States – China)

Akiho Shibata

Professor of International Law, Kobe University, Japan (States – Japan)

Gurdial Nijar Singh

Law Professor, Law Faculty, University of Malaya; Director, Center of Excellence for Biodiversity Law (CEBLAW); Advisor, Ministry of Natural Resources & Environment, Malaysia (States – Asia)

Mahlet Kebede Teshome

Environmental Lawyer /Biosafety Expert, Department of Human Resources Science & Technology, Biosafety Unit, African Union Commission (Regional and International Governmental Organizations)

Elmo Thomas

Deputy Director of Research, Science and Technology, National Commission on Research, Science and Technology, Namibia (States – Africa)

Piet van der Meer

Secretariat, Public Research and Regulation Initiative (Public/Private Research Entities)